Awards » Awards Winners


AIA Minnesota Affordable Housing Design Award


This annual architectural design award is supported by the McKnight Foundation. Its goal is to recognize and encourage innovative, high-quality designs for affordable housing in Minnesota.



AIA Minnesota Young Architects Awards


This award, modeled after the national AIA's Young Architects Awards program, is given to individuals who, in an early stage of their architectural career, have shown exceptional leadership in service to the profession, the community, design, planning, and/or education. Those eligible include members of the AIA Minnesota who have been licensed to practice architecture less than 10 years are eligible to be nominated. (The term "young architect" does not reference the age of nominee, but the number of years of being licensed.) Winners of the Minnesota award are reviewed by the AIA Minnesota Committee on Design members. Recipients of the AIA MN Young Architects Award are encouraged to submit for nomination for the national Young Architect Awards program.



AIA Minnesota 25-Year Award

The 25-Year Award recognizes completed building projects, including individual buildings or groups of buildings, completed at least 25 but not more than 50 years ago. The projects must have been designed by firms with architects registered and practicing professionally in Minnesota.


AIA Minnesota Special Awards


The Special Awards is an award category that has become an increasingly important part of the Awards Program. There is a strong need to encourage, stimulate and recognize exceptional contributions of individuals and organizations improving the quality of our physical environment.


AIA Minnesota Louis Lundgren Award

AIA Minnesota seeks to encourage, stimulate and recognize exceptional individual volunteerism. Volunteering is a member's purest means of giving something back to the profession and community. The individual should exemplify unfailing commitment to the goals of AIA Minnesota, foster the advancement of the Institute at a national or regional level, and be a leader to the public. Any member of AIA Minnesota may nominate candidates providing the candidate is a member of AIA Minnesota for a period of not less than ten years and a member in good standing at the time of nomination. Emeritus members and self-nominations are eligible. Richard Faricy, FAIA, was the 2005 Louis Lundgren Award recipient and Keith Sjoquist, AIA, Sjoquist Architects, was the 2006 Louis Lundgren Award recipient.



AIA Minnesota Honor Awards


The jury recruited for this competition has national and international credibility, giving the award-winning architects and the public an idea of the caliber of work created by Minnesota architects and how they rate on a worldwide scale.